North Carolina ATV Restrictions

NC Regulations for All-Terrain Vehicle (ATV) Usage and Purchase

North Carolina ATV definition : a motorized off-highway vehicle designed to travel on three or four low-pressure tires, having a seat designed to be straddled by the operator and handlebars for steering.

Age Requirements for Use: 

- It is unlawful for any parent or legal guardian to knowingly permit a person less than 8 years of age to operate an ATV 

- It is unlawful for any parent of legal guardian to knowingly permit a person less than 12 years of age to operate an ATV with an engine capacity of 70cc or greater

- It is unlawful for any parent or legal-guardian to knowingly permit a person less than 16 years of age to operate an ATV with an engine capacity of 90 cc or greater 

- It is unlawful for any parent or legal-guardian to knowingly permit a person less than 16 years of age to operate an ATV unless the person is under the visual supervision of a person 18 years of age or older while operating the ATV Passengers: 

- No operator of an ATV shall carry a passenger, except on those vehicles specifically designed by the manufacturer to carry passengers in addition to the operator Equipment Requirements:

- All all-terrain vehicles shall be equipped with a brake system maintained in good operating condition 

- It shall be equipped with an effective muffler system maintained in good working condition 

- It shall be equipped with a USFS qualified spark arrester maintained in good working condition Prohibited acts by owners and operators: - Rider must wear eye protection and a safety helmet meeting USDOT standards 

- No person shall operate an ATV under the influence of alcohol, controlled substance, or prescription or nonprescription drug that impairs vision or motor coordination 

- No person shall operate in a careless or reckless manner to endanger or cause injury to person or property - No person call operate an ATV on any public street, road or highway except for the purpose of crossing that street, road, or highway

No person shall operate an ATV before sunrise or after sunset without displaying a lighted headlamp and taillamp Safety Training and Certificate: 

- Every ATV operator born on or after January 1, 1990 shall possess a safety certificate indicating successful completion of an ATV safety course sponsored or approved by the All-Terrain Vehicle Safety Institute 

- This certification and other training opportunities can be found on the ATV Safety Institute's official website at www.atvsafety.org

As a customer of 澳博注册网站平台 you agree that you have read and understand the North Carolina Law governing the usage and purchase of all-terrain vehicles.

Electric ATV's are not governed separately at this time, however our belief is they would fall under the same rules as an ATV with less than 69cc motor. Electric vehicles are not required to have mufflers or spark arrestors.

  • ATV's with 69cc engine or less - Rider must be 8 years old or older.
  • ATV's with 70cc to 90cc Engines - Rider must be 12 years old or older.
  • ATV's with 91cc engine or greater - Rider must be 16 years old or older

All riders under 16 years old must be supervised by a person at least 18 years old

Must wear a NCDOT approved helmet at all times. Eye protection must be worn at all times. Never carry passengers on a single-rider vehicle. Never ride off-road vehicles on public streets or roads. Never operate your ATV under the influence of drugs or alcohol. A certificate of successful completion of an ATV safety course will be obtained if user was born on or after Jan. 1, 1990